GRADUATE COUNCIL MINUTES

CHAIRED BY: David S. Chapman TIME: 3:00 pm

DATE: 25 February 2008 **PLACE:** 300 Park Building

<u>COUNCIL MEMBERS PRESENT:</u> Russ Askren, Steve Bealer, Ann Marie Breznay, Nicki Camp, Bill Hesterly, Jay Mace, John Martinez, John McDonnell, Pat Murphy, Sally Planalp, Kevin Rathunde, , Patrick Tresco, Rick Wacko, Robert Young, Jingyi Zhu

EX OFFICIO MEMBERS PRESENT: David Chapman, Fred Rhodewalt, Nancy Nickman, Lisa Blair, Graduate School

EXCUSED: Mary Jane Taylor

FINAL AGENDA

1. Approval of Minutes – 26 November 2007

The minutes of the 26 November 2007 meeting were approved unanimously as amended.

2. Approval of Minutes – 29 January 2008

The minutes of the 29 January 2008 meeting were approved unanimously as presented.

3. Proposal to Create a Doctoral Program in Rehabilitation Science

The doctoral program in Rehabilitation Science would focus on the science driving clinical practice of rehabilitation. The program of study is based on research, teaching, and professional service.

The Division of Physical Therapy recently began offering the Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT) degree for students interested in the clinical practice of Physical Therapy. The DPT degree is a clinical degree that is intended for individuals interested in engaging in clinical practice. The doctoral program in Rehabilitation Science will award a PhD degree and will focus on the expertise needed for independent research and pursuing careers is academia.

The proposed PhD program in rehabilitation science would be complementary to the existing DPT program. Enrollment in the DPT program would not be affected by a PhD program because these programs have different missions.

ACTION TAKEN:

Motion: Approve the proposal to create a Doctoral Program in Rehabilitation Science

in the Division of Physical Therapy, College of Health as revised.

Vote: Approved unanimously.

Action: Inform the Division of Physical Therapy of the Graduate Council's decision to

approve the revised proposal. The proposal will be forwarded to the Senior Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs for transmittal to the PRC of

the Board of Regents, Academic Senate.